Long-Time RPer, New to MMO RP/FFXIV

Thestias

Hey there! So excited to have found this website and all of you helpful people on it

MMORPG background

So, I've actually not played many MMOs...like, at all; I typically don't like to play games with other people, as I'm not very good at them and have had a lot of poor experiences. But, I played this one for a little while about four years back, and recently picked it up again to play with my fiance while he's in tech school for the Air Force. I also dabbled in WoW in high school, on my stepmother's account; I was absolutely terrible at it, and wasn't a fan in general--which was probably why, come to think of it, lol. There was a short period of time where I played DDO, but it didn't pull me in at all like FFXIV has

RP experience

I've been roleplaying in various capacities for half my life, at this point; Dungeons and Dragons, in-person, is probably where most of it comes from. I did Gaia Online for a few years, and a few other forum-based roleplays, not to mention the private rp I do with friends and people I meet on Discord. I just like to create characters and worlds and see what happens when they get tossed together

Character ideas/info

Well, as someone literally brand-new to the game, and franchise as a hole if I'm being totally honest, I only have the one character--Giselle Marinnoux--whom I've been working on fleshing out with a friend of mine. She's an Elezen gladiator, will eventually go to black knight when I can get the complete edition of the game, and I have some basic background on her; I'm really hoping that, with more experience with the game, I can get a solid amount of character lore and connections for her. She started out as thaumaturge, but my friends needed a tank and I really, really like tanking so I volunteered

How did you learn about the coalition?