Returnee WoW refugee looking for some FC advice on Balmung.

So, I figured I should start here,

My name is Zach, but people mostly call me Mav/Travis.  My character is M'vheric Nunh on Balmung and I'm looking to make some new connections and potentially find a safe place to land here on the server for myself and maybe a few other similar situation-wise friends.

• I recently have stopped playing wow after the recent issues with Blizzard and the current state of the game. (I've been playing off an on since BC/2007-2008ish) 
  • I love rp, and normally in an MMO I play through it fully first, to get a decent idea of the world, before diving in and making a character (I've still yet to put the bones on my character's story yet because I'm still thinking a few things over.  

My real questions are the following.  I don't really know ANYTHING about the server politics of Balmung (I'm sure it exists like all RP servers in all games) 
    1. Are there any large tentpole FC's that I need to be aware of?  
    2. Are there any...problem FC's I need to avoid?
    3. What is the best place Club/Bar/Area (that isn't the bloody quicksand...)to find some people to interact with?

If I was looking for an active FC with...An entertainment/civvy side and also a merc/adventure side where would I look towards first?  Not looking for anything super military, but something to that extent where I can plant some roots and really enjoy my time here in FF14. 

Any help is always appreciated, even if it is criticism.