Cracked Soul Crystal

So, I'm rather new to roleplaying but have been part of a small group for a time doing rp in the game here and there. I'm not huge on the lore, but I had a question regarding Soul Crystals. 

So in story, a summoner friend of mine had their soul crystal damaged in battle and has claimed that it has inhibited their ability to summon their carbuncle (which is effectively their beloved pet). The fandom wiki for Soul Crystals states that "the crystals for Summoners are used as a catalyst for the summoning of a primal's Egi, and Scholars' crystals are used to store their fairies when they are not summoned so that they are not dismantled and can continue to learn."

Since the summoner's egi is tied to their soul crystal and this particular summoner's crystal has been damaged, does this possibly mean that the Carbuncle is technically lost or could the very same Carbuncle be re-summoned using another crystal? Or can a crystal be repaired and brought back to full use? I know Dark Knight's go through something similar in their story, but not sure how that is resolved... 

If my character were to visit the Arcanist guild in Limsa Lominsa, what would be something they might say in response to this if my character were to inquire about this? I'm kinda using responses here as a basis for what a skilled Arcanist/Summoner might say to my character regarding her friend's soul crystal & carbuncle...

In a strictly OOC sense, a soul crystal may not have anything to do with a carbuncle, seeing as they're summoned from an arcanist's books (and a gemstone?) and not a soul crystal, which is part of how our characters unlock a job.