'Ello There

Saefinn

Hey folks.

I am somewhat a newbie role player looking to role play on FFXIV. I was a big FFXI gamer and on MMOs I've always wanted to roleplay, but generally joined friends on their servers, who were non-roleplayers so I never had the chance. There's a couple of us starting up in FFXIV:ARR and I'm going to be setting up a linkshell and trying to entice gamers we know into the game (people we know from FFXI and other MMOs). This means server choice was left with me, so in abusing my power I wanted to go for an RP server. :P

Anyhow, I am new to FFXIV (currently participating in BETA), so I will be picking up some of the lore, but I figure I've got a suitable backstory. The LS I'm setting up will be called The Pirates of Eorzea (subject to change) as I ran one called Pirates of Urghan back when I was playing FFXI. Obviously there's going to be the challenge of working it into lore and without the use of the Corsair job ;), but I think I've created enough of a backstory for it to work.

I was once Captain Saefinn, I had my own crew, but during a great storm on the seas our ship was ransacked and sunk by the beastmen known as the Sahagin. Watching my crew slaughtered in front of me, I was unable to do anything - I never got to Captain through my fighting prowess or heck through my brains or strategic ability, I was the kind who was quick with his tongue and not sword or mind. Sure I could win a bar brawl, but I could never really fight - I paid people to do that for me. I washed up on a shore West of Mor Dhona, coughing up sea water, barely conscious. There I was rescued by a Lalafell Conjurer, she healed some of my wounds and helped nurse me back to health. She knew nothing of my past dealings - the smuggling, the fact I'd have anybody killed should they stand in my way of making good money.