Returning player with questions on tattooing, Doman naming conventions

As the title says, I recently returned to the game and just couldn't get into Ashianna's rp anymore, so I decided to work on a new character. Borrowing from a concept I have played before in a similar rp, I decided to roll a Doman midlander. I've been searching Edo-era Japanese names, and have a couple I like, but I am undecided as far as the last name. Do they tend to be Japanese as well? or are they similiar to Yugiri Mistwalkers name?

I'm still fleshing out her background, but I feel like I have a pretty good grasp of it. One thing I do want to be a part of it is that she is a tattoo artist. Being a fledgling artist myself, I thought it would be a fun way to bring that into the game. I've read some discussion about magical tattoo's and there is no doubt that tattoo's are worn in this world, how does the application of them work in this world? Obviously, with magitech, mammets, and other constructs in the world, we have some technology. Do they have such things as tattoo needles and the like? In the other game I played a similar concept in, there was hardly any technology. There was a lot of magic, so tattoo's were applied with magical ink and worked rp wise for most anyone that sought her out for tattooing. I want to make sure it is lore compliant for this game however.

Thanks for any help all you wonderful lore people have in advance!! <3

With regard to Doman names for non-Au Ra, I would point you to the NPCs you encounter in the initial (30-50) NIN questline. Your quest giver is named Oboro Moonrise, though there's also a woman with him named Tsubame Sunrise that you interact with. Your opponent in it is named Karasu Redbeak, and they were trained under a Master Gekkai. All of whom are Midlander Hyurs, so it should be safe to assume that a naming style akin to Yugiri's should be fine.