Hello everyone

Hi, I've been lurking the forums for a little while now and finally decided to join now that A Realm Reborn is so close (and yet so far...) to release. I'm a complete newb when it comes to roleplay but I'm very excited to get into it with FFXIV and it is wonderful to have such a helpful site to come to for help and advice.

--MMORPG background

I've been playing MMOs for about 7 years, starting off with the classic Runescape. The number of mmos I've tried is high, but the more notable ones were Mabinogi, Aion, Tera, and Guild Wars 2 (only for a short time). I first played FFXIV during 1.0 about two months after release (purchased the CE) for literally 10 minutes... My poor computer at the time was just not up to running FFXIV so I waited until I could afford something that could run it. After I finally was able to run FFXIV I played it quite a bit, left for a while, and then played awhile again up until a few weeks before it was shut down. Sadly, despite being on Besaid from the beginning I never actually got into RP due to being much too nervous to try it out. Now I've built up the courage to try, finally.

--RP experience

I have absolutely no in-game RP experience. In my earlier days I never saw anyone rp-ing, and then later on when/if I did see it I was too nervous to get into it and ask for help learning the ropes since everyone seemed to know what they were doing and I didn't. While having never roleplayed in-game I have roleplayed on forums many times in the past, picking it up not too long after I began to play mmos. Forum RPs seem to fizzle out faster than in-game RPs though.

--Character ideas/info