My first steps in Eorzea...

Krimmzon

Hello there, everyone! You can, uh, call me Krimmzon, and I just started playing Final Fantasy XIV (after years of being on the fence and trying it a few times, and finally buying the game for super cheap on gmg) to scratch that ol' MMO itch.

MMORPG background

I've been playing MMOs for years. I dabbled very briefly in Everquest, but my first actual experience was in the ORIGINAL Runescape. I went on from there to get heavily into Guild Wars, then into World of Warcraft around the release of The Burning Crusade, and since then I've tried my hand at pretty much every MMO on the market, even some more obscure ones. I usually gravitate towards healers and such, but roleplay is my first love.

RP experience

I've been roleplaying in one form or another for about as long as I've been playing video games. Whether it be Dungeons and Dragons (my first experiences being in 3rd edition), forum based roleplaying (which is where I met my girlfriend), or taking my first steps in MMO roleplaying through World of Warcraft, I consider myself to be exceptionally experienced in the craft of both writing and roleplaying.

Character ideas/info

This one is still a big mystery for me, and something I hope to feel out as I learn the lore and get a feel for the world. Ideally, I like to play intelligent characters that are either magically inclined, or mechanically inclined, and enjoy trying to realize them as thoroughly as possible. I haven't nailed anything down,  and in fact I deleted my old trial character and made one from scratch because of a silly name and issues with appearance just before writing this, so I don't even have anything mechanically down! 

How did you learn about the coalition?

Google, and experience with there being roleplaying communities out there for MMOs.

What kind of a role-player are you aiming to be? (e.g. Light, medium, or heavy)