Completely new to FFXIV RP! Hello!

Juni Tella

Hello! 

I am a writer-roleplayer however I am completely new to the world of FFXIV and it's roleplay. To the point that one of my questions is actually how to even roleplay on the game. I'm extremely excited to get into it, and I've been playing for the past couple of days to get a feel for the game itself, so I'm here to see if I could get a quick run down of how the roleplay community works there!

I'm on Balmung and my character's named Juni Tella, if anyone's curious to say hello! :)

Some other questions: (and pardon me if they're extremely naive.)

- Do people rp/talk through the chat down in the corner?

- do you have to consistently use emotes and acting during rp?

- I've been told simply to put in my account 'Walk up tell' and that 'people will understand' but I don't particularly understand...

- am I supposed to put a quick 60 character backstory on that profile bio?

- do you send messages or tells? what exactly is the difference?

Thank you so much for your time for helping answer some of these questions and introducing me to the rp world! 

Howdy Juni and welcome aboard. I come from a similar background with rping in chat rooms and forums and FF is my first MMO. I'm still getting the hang of it but after a few months of playing, I feel confident enough to answer your questions. So, here we go.

- Yes, the little chatbox is used for rping. For comfort of use, you can expand it to your liking and make it as big as you like.

- Most people use emotes to supplement written text. E.g. I will often write that my character laugh or chuckled in a response and will often then include the emote. It can be repetitive at times perhaps but I think it works.

- Playing walk up or tell let's other roleplayers know you are approachable and are open to random encounters.