No one wants to talk with me

I'm quite new to RolePlaying in general but I feel like my character is a least relatively fleshed out, I have a backstory and a pretty consistent personality for my character,  Although I don't think my character is the problem since I'm not even getting to point of actually talking to someone.

I've gone to quite a few events and so on but I just really struggle getting someone to really engage with me, I'm not really hiding away in a dimly lit corner waiting for someone to approach me or anything and I do try to chat with people who are somewhat near me or if I see someone standing at the other side of the room alone I'll give them a /smile to let them know I'm open to chatting with them but nothing really seems to work.

It just seems like everyone has these pre-existing groups and I'm starting to get quite disheartened with the only people I'm seemingly able to communicate with being the tavern staff.

Then talk to the staff!

Large events can be really difficult to slip into as people usually go with other they know.  But there is nothing wrong with sidling up to the bar and chatting with the barkeeper.

And I've been in the same spot as you,a s I'm sure as many other RPers.  Hm ... perhaps look for some smaller events to go to like a tea house.  Or see if anyone in your FC (if you are in one) will go to an event with you.

Don't give up!

Welcome! I'm sorry to hear you've been having difficulties. It could be any number of things, so some general tidbits of advice...

1) Role-players are admittedly often terribly shy/awkward, even when they're RPing, especially if they're already wallflowering at an event alone. A /smile at them from across the room may not be enough to inspire them to feel confident interacting with you. You'll be most likely to have some success by walking right up to them and engaging them directly.