Rilya, Apprentice Arcanist

I am new to RP in FF (and more or less new to the game overall, despite having had a few false starts in the past). I've got a character and am looking for some traveling companions, basically. Or a FC that has lower level players interested in RPing through the main questline (adjusting things as necessary on occasion, I assume).

The character is based on a character I am developing in some original fiction, so this is sort of an AU version of her. Mainly to help me work out her personality some more. So with my original fiction premise in the back of my head, I did some cursory review of places/situations in Eorzea that would allow for a semi-similar scenario for her background to what my own fantasy world entails and what I've come to at the moment is this:

My character, Rilya Oroa, is an Elezen Arcanist. She was born and raised in Ala Mhigo (or perhaps a small village nearby) and she was orphaned when her family and most everyone she knew was killed when the Garlean Empire invaded. She comes from a long line of Arcanists and is determined to master the craft and return to Ala Mhigo to help free it from Imperial rule. After the invasion, she escaped and fled to the Black Shroud with some other Elezen survivors and she grew up there, coming to Limsa Lominsa now in her mid-to-late 20s to join the Arcanists' Guild and begin her personal quest to aid in the freeing of her home. (This premise is because it looks like liberating Ala Mhigo is an eventual plot point in the main story, likely quite a ways away from my character at this time, but I might have misunderstood, so by all means, enlighten me if so. I skimmed some stuff, but didn't want to have the entire plot spoiled from the get for me since I've yet to play through).