Looking to try Role Playing, but nervous and hesitant for some reasons

Hi there. I’m brand new to the game, like really brand new. Never seen anyone play it, never had played it before, just have some minor experience with older Final Fantasy games (3 was my favorite), and I’m feeling a little hesitant to join the community of role playing here.

I made a character on the server that was most suggested for Role Playing (Balmung). There’s some things that make me feel a bit awkward about getting into RP and I hope I might be able to find some answers here to help me. 

I’m not very familiar with FF lore but I’m definitely up for learning it. I feel a bit overwhelmed in the game already so I’m wondering if I should play through the first part of the story before really wanting to get into any RP. I’m not even at lvl 30 on my most played class and I just left my starting area. There’s a lot I haven’t explored yet but I still find myself sitting and listening to anyone RPing nearby thinking about how fun it would be.

Are there any beginner tips you guys might have for getting into an RP group? I know there’s lots to choose from and I’m looking into some things I’m not used to. And this might sound strange but are there races that are more fun to role play with than others? I saw a Miqo’te exclusive RP advertised and it made me a little self conscious about being a Viera since I already stand out in terms of height against most players I see.

Hope I might find some help here thank you in advance!

Hello there.