New to RP, and a little lost. Have several questions.

MikeRaffone

First, hello!

As the title says, I am brand new to RP and FFXIV in general (played for a few months). I have played MMO's many years ago (Lich King days of WoW, then SWTOR on release), but have never really ventured into RP of any type. (Besides just messing around IRL and speaking as another person. eg. Mr Bean)

I do find the whole thing very interesting, but am intimidated as I don't really know what I am doing. I have been reading around and see what others are doing, and I mean, I'm sure I don't have to tell you that people RP basically everything you can think of.

As I am really new, I have some extremely basic questions that I am just looking to get cleared up. As it may show, I tend to overthink everything.

** I have read this site's 'frequently discussed subjects', read the 'Role-Play Handbook' and ALL of the other resources I could find before posting this. **

1. Do RPers ALWAYS communicate OOC first?

I was reading something that basically said if you see RP going on, it's best to ask OOC in /tell if you can join in. While this makes perfect sense to me for many reasons, it does feel like that would break immersion. Just looking for clarification on how this normally works.

How much of RP is also talking OOC to others to get each others intentions?

2. In the game it is very obvious what people's names are, as they have names floating above their head. In RP, do people ignore this? Or is it just assumed that people know your name and vice versa?

3. I'm going to use a recent experience to explain some of my questions. I went to a bar/nightclub in FFXIV, and a bartender was selling drinks. Say I wanted to get a drink. Which is more normal, just using the 'say' chat, or whispering/telling as you are speaking to that person directly? Would I know the bartender's name?