Journey lengths?

Aris

Hello! 

I wondered if we know how long it would take to travel across Eorzea (or across a map, e.g. Central Shroud).

In game, if I were to take a Chocobo Porter from Ala Mhigo to Ul'dah it would take about 3 minutes, but IC that's incredibly short and not much of an adventure at all. :P Or do we go by this IC as well? 

I'm still new to RP, and it's the first time I've thought about this sort of thing properly. I know the devs have provided some lore on teleporting. I imagine it's been discussed before - if so I apologise for the silly question!

Hello! 

I wondered if we know how long it would take to travel across Eorzea (or across a map, e.g. Central Shroud).

In game, if I were to take a Chocobo Porter from Ala Mihgo to Ul'dah it would take about 3 minutes, but IC that's incredibly short and not much of an adventure at all. :P Or do we go by this IC as well? 

I'm still new to RP, and it's the first time I've thought about this sort of thing properly. I know the devs have provided some lore on teleporting. I imagine it's been discussed before - if so I apologise for the silly question!

There will always be differing opinions on how long such journeys should take -- so, in my own humble opinion, the best approach to take is the one that gives YOU a good story and a good experience. If you want a story lasting days, make the journey take days! If you just want an evening of roleplay with a two hour scene, make the journey take two hours! If your character has to RUSH to Southern Thanalan on Chocoboback to save her friend -- why not three minutes? We often like to get technical and try to play to what we think would be realistic in terms of travelling time, but I think it's always best (and convenient) to bend the time it takes around the kind of scene/scenes you wish to partake in. Do whatever results in a fun time for you and your partners -- providing they agree to take that approach as well!

Just my two gil!

Hello!