How widely do Balmung FCs/LSs use voice chat?

Hello,

I'm new to Final Fantasy and just easing my way into the game.  I've loved the RP experience in other worlds and am hoping to convince my gaming partner to join me in moving to Balmung soon.  :thumbsup:

As the title of the thread implies, I'm curious to know how widely the free companies and linkshells on the Balmung server use voice chat.  For heavy game content I understand the need for at least the leader of a party to be able to use voice prompts.  Beyond that I've found that I don't really like voice communication for general socializing with other players.  Hearing people's RL voices and conversations about their everyday lives removes the sense of immersion for me in the game world for some reason.  I certainly understand why some people love communicating this way, but I've just found that it's not fun for me.

I would very much appreciate any suggestions you have on how to experience what appears to be a wonderful community without the use of voice for socializing with people in the game so I can maintain the feeling of immersion that I enjoy.

Thanks very much for any comments or suggestions!

Alli

Voicecom certainly isn't for everyone - I've met several people who actively seek to not know anything about their guildmates socially because it messes their immersion. 

For my own FC, we use Discord for voicecom purposes as well as a text-based skype group. It's entirely optional - but my FC is very social, so you'll see people chat on skype and on discord throughout the day/night. I also know Balmung has it's own discord server and skype group, but how popular it is I don't know. 

Perhaps the skype group would be something to look into for you, if it is still going.