Hey there!

I had been considering RPing in FFXIV for a bit, but was rather nervous about it.  When I finally got around to looking up things like lore and which realms were heavy in RPers, I came across this site and got interested.

I used to be heavy into forum RP, but I'm new to the concept of doing it in an MMO setting.  Any advice to help a forum RPer transition to MMO RP would be greatly appreciated.

On the subject of characters, I've been toying around with one for a bit, but I'm not too sure how to pull it off.  My major issue is I want to eventually make her a Bard, but I'm not sure how easy it is to segue from Archer to Bard IC.  I've never actually made a Bard, so I don't know how the class quests go for Archer, nor the job quests for Bard.

There's actually a lot more points I'm unsure of, but I don't want to fill my welcome post with it.  Is there a dedicated place on the forum where I could post a rough profile or description of what I'd been considering and have people help me with what is and isn't lore friendly?

Anyway, glad to meet you guys!

Hello there! I'm going to attempt to tackle your points in order!

1) Don't be nervous! There's a wildly diverse group of roleplayers and writers here, so even if you decide to be a moon princess from Attack on Titan who is part of the Matrix, you'll probably find someone willing to roll with that.

2) For my money, forum RP is a lot like playing multiplayer cooperative writing; Flowery descriptions and lots of time spent fleshing out a scene or concept is the stuff those posts are made of. Conversely, in-game roleplay feels more like writing out a script while performing it; Equal parts dialogue to keep a scene moving along while describing just enough of what's not displayed on your character. Since we can see the world itself while in-game, a lot of the necessity to describe buildings and interiors and clothing goes away.