Searching for in-game RP

So, I'm fairly new to FFXIV and vastly enjoying it. I have longtime experience playing and RPing on other MMOs and have been really hoping to get involved in some RP here as well. The problem is, the only recommended servers for RP are Balmung and Gilgamesh, and they're consistently full. The going recommendation I've seen is to create a character and then pay to transfer it to one of those two servers, but I really can't afford to throw my money around like that. 

Are there any options for those of us who want to RP somewhere other than those two servers? Any RP guilds I could join someplace else, maybe? I am currently on Zalera, after having read something about a bit of RP on the server, but after starting out there I was told that all of the RPers transferred off-server. If anyone up here has, is in, or knows of a good RP guild on some other server- especially Zalera- please let me know. My husband and I both would be very interested in joining.

Hey there,

Behold, the bringer of terrible news; nope I fear Balmung is your best bet. Gilgamesh is another option, but... Balmung outshines Gilgamesh on the amount of folk we got over there. I fear if you are really into roleplaying, Balmung is the way to go.

I do wish the server was open more often, so folk like yourself could find their ways easier onto Balmung. But I fear for now transfering to Balmung is the only option. There as some attempts to create RP elsewhere. Maybe poke people around in this section of the RPC.

If you do happen to transfer over to Balmung, mind you, as long your character did the few starting quests, and they are over 3 days old, you can transfer up to 8 characters along with you to Balmung. It isn't like WoW where you have to pay for every single one individually, so there is that. However, it does only count for one account, so I fear the both of you still need to dish out the transfer per account.