Hello! Second try newbie here.

luxemas

Hello folks! So... technically not new to FFXIV, but having a go at it again after being told about the RP community on Balmung. 

I'm actually quite fond of this game, but I found on my first go around it just didn't feel like it had much for me to grasp at. Or at least, it didn't give me anything I couldn't get from other games. Or maybe its just because I found Archer/Bard to be disappointing since it wasn't in line with the kind of Bard I play in D&D :V Either way, I'm back in the game playing an Arcanist this time and finding it feeling a lot more to my sort of play style.

Anyway, this time around me and my boyfriend are gonna give the RP scene a shot. T'was something I spent A LOT of my youth doing (I'm sure you could collect a novel's worth of RP logs from my old AIM and Gaia Online account alone), but am quite fascinated with the idea of being able to merge that experience with an MMORPG, as I've never done it before. Plus I hadn't been able to do RP stuff in ages so I figured this would be a perfect excuse to get back into it.

With that said though, I've found myself coming here reading through a lot of posts regarding lore and such while trying to parse it with my boyfriend who's far more a veteran than a lot of my other friends who play it (Like I think he said he started playing back when 1.0 launched). Still, I found y'all seem pretty polite and knowledgeable about such things, so I hope it isn't too much trouble to go around here trying to figure out how to fit in with y'all.

?

Hello and welcome to the community!

FFXIV was the first MMO I ever RPed in too, and I found it to be a great for breaking in your RP shoes. I've tried others since then, and most seem to...lack something. I can't quite put my finger on it. Something something immersion something