Roleplaying a Paladin (Help, please)

Hello all, I'm actually a Veteran FF14 member (Legacy), but I just recently picked the game back up and wanted to roleplay my level 50 Paladin on Balmung. 

I really just don't know how one would go about roleplaying a Paladin with the current lore, but I would prefer to not break the lore if possible. I want to roleplay an experienced, and capable Paladin but not the main hero. More of like a stoic character who may have some wisdom to share, and is loyal to a fault but simultaneously set in his ways (due to his paladinhood and age). Below is the appearance of my character currently. I am open to background and playstyle suggestions/advice! Thank you!

ff14elhart.png

I don't recall all the Paladin lore information off the top of my head - there's probably a Sounsyy post somewhere that provides far more enlightenment than I could ever provide - but I'll try to provide some general tidbits.

There are currently two "types" of Paladin that are known. The first and most recognizable are the Sultansworn, they are the Paladin order that basically serves as the Secret Service/Special Agents for the Sultanate of Ul'dah. They serve as her most elite guards and also safeguard a number of artifacts and secrets. Playing as one shouldn't have too many difficulties, age or no, considering Papashan is a well-recognized Lalafellan Sultansworn who is getting on in years.