From one world to another

Menord

Hi everyone, and apologies for the long-winded introduction. I finally decided to give in to the temptation and see what FFXIV looks like in the eyes of a roleplayer, so hopefully this post will help me to get rid of some of the pre-transfer nervousness.

MMORPG background

I've tried quite a few MMORPGs during my gaming career, but most of my experience comes from playing World of Warcraft for over ten years. I made my account into Final Fantasy XIV approximately two years ago, but I haven't had the time (or the money) to play it actively until now. I feel very much like a complete newbie in the game.

RP experience

I've roleplayed more or less actively in WoW for approximately nine years and even lead a small RP guild (though with questionable success). In addition, I have been an on-off LARPer for over one decade and participated in a slowly-progressing D&D campaign for good many years.

How did I end up here?

Lately, I've been feeling a bit burned out by WoW and tempted to join a few Tumblr friends of mine on Balmung to see what roleplay is like there. I found this website by accident when I was googling some information about FFXIV roleplay, and I've been lurking here ever since.

RP style

If I had to classify myself, I guess I would fall into the medium roleplayer category. I like in-depth storylines and seeing characters grow, but I also have a soft spot for occasional silliness and even angst. My characters tend to be unstereotypical for their race or class and I've come up with a few "interesting" RP ideas in the past, but I enjoy studying the lore and otherwise immersing myself in the game world.

Character ideas