Old RP-er, New Game, Many Questions [Balmung]

mbulsht

Ho there, everyone. I'm certainly hoping that I have the right forum board for this topic. If I've posted this in the wrong place, I will happily redirect my attention to the correct board.

Anyways, hi! Online, I go by the name Mbulsht, though in MMOs I always have a main toon by the name of "Amarissa" or some derivative thereof so most of my MMO buddies call me "Rissa." My current main is "Amarissa Leigh," a Hyur woman on Balmung. I've been playing for about two months now, having recently joined the game in the wake of my previous main MMO being shut down. I'm currently in the middle of the Stormblood storyline, and having seen a great deal of lore, I've started to build my character(s), and started to look into roleplay on my server.

And, well, here I am, I guess. Poking my head into a new game, and a new roleplay community. FFXIV is the latest in a somewhat long list of MMOs I've played, though only the second in which I intend to roleplay. Before I played MMOs, however, I roleplayed. Alot. This would be somewhere around the tenth roleplay community I've joined, and I've been roleplaying in various formats (from chanboards to IRC chats) for around ten years now. With that in mind, I skimmed somewhat quickly through this forum's role-play handbook and role-play etiquette topics, just to see if I saw anything  new.