Experienced RPer, Newbie MMO Player

Hey all! Longtime Final Fantasy fan here, but I'm fairly new to MMOs. The only other one I have played for more than a few hours was Lord of the Rings Online for a couple years, however that was mostly for the RP community. I'm a longtime RPer, with most of my experience being in one on one original roleplay via instant messenger (Windows Messenger, Skype, then Discord), and then a little on LotRO, with some irl friends. I'm having a fantastic time playing FFXIV (though I'm finding mmo gameplay a little overwhelming at times, haha), and one of the biggest reasons I decided to start playing was hearing about the thriving RP community. 

I'm still learning the game lore but the character I'm working on developing is a male Hyur Doctor (Elgan Yarwood, on Mateus) with past connections to the Garlean Empire. I really enjoy darker storylines and playing... less morally upright characters, and was hoping to find other RPers who might be into that. I tend to land somewhere between a light and heavy roleplayer, where I enjoy delving into deep storylines and intense character development, but I'm more than happy to throw lore by the wayside in service of an interesting plotline or character arc. 

IRL I'm working on finishing my first novel, and I'm also an artist (so if we get along and RP together, I might end up drawing your character if you're into that, lol unsubtle bribery.) 

Anyways I'm not going to lie I'm pretty nervous and intimidated by the vastness of the community and I'm really worried about making a complete fool of myself so I thought I'd start in the intros section, rather than dive right into posting a character profile or searching for free companies etc. I'm looking forward to meeting you guys and I hope to make some meaningful connections and to tell some cool stories together.