Class Confusion! Help?! Releveling?

ashkir

I'm completely new to Final Fantasy, and I don't understand this. But, I've been told while I'm playing "yay bard :D" when people realize I am an Archer. I rolled an Archer because I thought it was the class I wanted to play on create a character. Now people are telling me at level 30 I need to make a new class... Pugalist and get to 15 and then go back to my Archer and become a Bard? I wanted an Archer! Not a singing guy that does nothing. :(

Why am I going to have to level to 30, then start over to 15? I thought I should just go all the way to 50. Can someone clear this up for me? I choose an Archer on purpose. Because I wanted to play a ranger/archer. The game has not been clear on this at all.

Nah, they're telling you to upgrade your class rather than completely picking a new one. You need to level up Pugilist to 15 in addition to having level 30 on Archer in order to unlock the Bard class. Like Lost River said, Bard is still an Archer. They just gain access to songs to use in battle.

When you get to level 30 in your main class, and 15 in a specific alternate class, you can take the job quest. When you get it, you upgrade from, in this instance, archer to bard. Bard is literally just archer with new skills, and new equipment available. You don't -have- to upgrade into bard, but there's literally no downside to it..

Essentially more skills and stronger armor which leads to better stats and bonuses.

this, plus if you don't take on a Job you won't have people picking you for dungeons and such when end game stuff hits. I've seen this problem really noticeable with Tanks after level 30, they just can't hold the enemies attention for the people with jobs for some reason. I know some people have even dropped out of parties when they saw the tank was a class and not a job.