Unsure on what to do...

Okay fellow role players I am in a bit of a bind...  I have always been a fan of role playing games.  Almost any video game I play I try my hardest to actually immerse myself into the story of the character I am playing.  However that has become quite an issue with MMORPGs. 

First off, I am still a bit of a novice when it comes to the actual style of RP in MMOs.  Not even sure if I know all the rules to be quite honest.  Even though I have always tried to play as the actual character ((ex. RP walking even in single player games)), I wasn't formally introduced to role playing until I ran into a few people like me in World of Warcraft.  Now I have had wonderful experiences since I have found out about the phenomena known as RP but here lies my dilemma...

I first bought FFXIV when the game launched.  And for the most part I started out pretty good.  Stayed to the story as much as I could.  But low and behold, my cousins and family got into the game which prompted me to hurry and rush to unlock all the content.  They are more of raiders than RPers.  This ultimately resulted in me rushing thru most of the story and getting to a point where the game is just an endless grind to the next gear tier.

I don't mind keeping my level 50 white mage with item level 95 gear to help other RPers, but I feel I want to start another character a new and ONLY follow the story as it unfolds.

But of course I cannot hope to save all of Eorzea alone.  Does anyone have any pointers on how to find or assemble a 4-8 man group ((maybe even a static RPFC)) where I can go thru the game, unlock all the material, and have fun doing it all in character.  Or am I asking too much?

I'd love to help out with dungeons to make it more enjoyable. Especially if you didn't get the chance to really explore them.