Hello there!

Hello!

I am new to the game and the whole roleplay side of it and thought that I should probably present my sorry self to the community.

I have spent a few years roleplaying on various other things such as Wow, GW2 and even EVE at one point and have finally set my sights on FFXIV.

Would love to hear from you all with any tips or hints that you all have. :D

-Overwatch

Hi there!

Welcome to FFXIV and welcome to the RPC!

Whether it's questions on gameplay or questions on RP, feel free to ask as many questions as you'd like.

And if you have any gameplay questions or ever need help with any of the content, feel free to ask around!

--Massive blurb about text chats in the game--

A couple commands you'll probably enjoy in-game.

/tell : Sends a whisper/PM to that character, if they are not marked with /busy or in an instanced server/duty. Ex: "/tell Unnamed Mercenary HI!"

/emotelist : Brings up the massive emote list. Each emote will show you the text command too

/em : the "custom emote" command. If you've used the /me command in an IM chat, it works the same way. Ex: "/em welcomes you to the RPC!"

/say, /yell, /shout, /party, /ls, /fc, /a : these are your commands to switch through different chat styles. You can either type it before every line, or type the command first, and then direct input after.

/say: common chat. White text by default

/yell: local-area chat. Yellow text by default

/shout: entire map(?) Orange text by default

/party: party/group chat. Blue text by default

/ls: Linkshell chat. You can have up to 8 of them. The number matters. These are chat groups effectively. Light-ish green by default.

/fc: Free Company (guild) chat. Most treat it like another Linkshell, although many FCs will also have an additional LS for either chat with people not in the FC or for RP purposes. Grey-ish-blue by default.

/a : Alliance chat. This is used in the 24-person raids and Frontline PvP. It's red by default.