Astro Ice Mage?

Larehawk

Hello, I am new to RP in general, so please have mercy if this is a dumb question ;-;

So, I made it so my character can use Ice magic with an Astro globe. For example.

"Vektis tore a card from his globe and threw it at his opponent, the card turning into a icicle halfway through the hair, aiming for his opponents chest."

Is that acceptable? Or would that just be a form of thaum using an Astro globe. Or is THAT even a thing that would work? It's bugging me not knowing D:

Thaumaturgy as a form of magic requires very special materials in its focus, specifically bone / metal topped with a gemstone. Without this, it'll either not work, or you'll hurt yourself.

Apparently WHM during 1.0 had control over Ice, but considering there are some people who believe the 1.0 lore was retconned, and the fact that there is much debate over whether one can be a WHM at all, I'm not going to touch that in my post.

TL;DR, Umbral Ice requires a focus made out of THM materials, as far as we can tell (unless you eat a crystal and become Shiva I guess).

Apparently WHM during 1.0 had control over Ice, but considering there are some people who believe the 1.0 lore was retconned, and the fact that there is much debate over whether one can be a WHM at all, I'm not going to touch that in my post.

Small correction, but in 1.0 it was Conjurers who had access to the entire elemental spectrum, not White Mages exclusively.

And there is nothing in lore to support the notion that they no longer have access to them either. I believe there is an NPC quote from 2.0 that deals with the class changes, mentioning that since the Calamity Conjurers of Stillglade Fane have been focusing their abilities toward the healing arts.

Sounsy has a comprehensive mage post floating around which delves into all this.

The Elemental Wheel is mentioned in Great Gubal Library notes so it's not really -retconned-.

Chapter 1- The Six Nativities & Myriad Creation.