Looking for RP, without RPing

Yian Kutku

It's weird, I know. I'll get to it after the introductory information.

I'm new to FF14, and still on my early days of the free 14-day trial (second day today, probably third by the time I get back to this thread). I was waiting for the game to be officially available in my country (Singapore, GMT+8 for those wondering), and then put it off until now due to the 30GB install requirement.

I've spent most of the past few days looking up "how not to be a complete idiot in gameplay" guides for FF14, which still does not seem adequate. I hope I won't stumble over any unseen pitfalls.

My previous MMO experiences are myriad, but mostly keeping to myself in silent soloing, and usually no more than a few months before lapsing. The one exception was my very first MMO, and the reason I bounced around so many others: City of Heroes, of dearly departed memory and eight years' playtime.

As fellow former CoH players might guess, I played on Virtue.

One of the things I discovered there was that I'm simply not very good at RPing. As far as I know I wasn't actively terrible (at least, I never got any complaints), but more often than not actually participating stressed me out, and I ended up trying to fade back into the crowd rather than jumping in.

However, I loved watching RP going on. It was like awesome stories and performances happening all around me that I can spectate and enjoy. Again, I never got any complaints about it, so I assume it's not a huge problem, but I don't know how FF14's RP etiquette works.

I can roleplay if I have to, if that's what it takes, but I would much prefer to be a passive audience. And yet I find it helps my enjoyment immensely to know that other players around me actually care about the lore, and aren't just in it for the pursuit of bigger numbers.