Trying to Decide if Rping is For Me

WovenTears

Hi Y'all!

I have always liked the idea of Rping in an MMO. I have played campaigns of D&D before and have even played the Pokemon Tabletop game as well. So I have some in Person RP experience. I have never one it in a MMO though. I've played MapleStory since it came out and started XIV about a year ago. Since I'm all caught up on the story content (currently 4.3), I was thinking of starting an alt, but I don't want to just grind through the story again like I did with my main (a SCH Hyur on Ultros). So I googled an RP advice guide thing which directed me to this site.

I guess this post is for me to figure out how RPing in XIV works. Do people just walk around and randomly talk to each other in character? Do I need a mic and to use linkshells? Is it frowned upon to also be doing story content while you RP? Do you only RP at specific events and times (I saw the RP schedule)? Is it easy to make friends and RP with strangers? Is the community generally welcoming to newcomers?

THAT was a lot of questions. I guess in reality I just want a brief overview of what RPing in XIV entails and what servers I should look into. 

Thank you so much and I am thankful for any incite! 

No advice given here is going to be entirely universal, but I'll try to keep it as general as possible.

1) People either walk around and talk to each other in character, or at events/normal gathering places. 

2) In game I don't think many people use the mic to RP, its all via in game chat though some roleplay FCs might do it over mic in their teamspeak/discord

3) As the main story is focused on the warrior of light and their specific journey, *in general* its considered poor form to RP that you are the warrior of light or that the story is IC for you. this will vary between groups greatly tho, and other content some people will roleplay while doing in some for or another (such as dungeons or things like that)