Ishgardian Politics

So, honestly, I have very little knowledge on Ishgardian Lore and I have a lot to read up on and there are many wonderful threads that contain the information I seek here on the RPC. However, before I start I with the hours of reading I would like to ask for some suggestions on a few hot spots and with a very specific question.

Is it possible for one noble house to politically assassinate, or go as far as actually attacking another noble house in secret, for the advancement of their own personal gain or goals. I've read one thread referring to the social structure and such, so I've read that the Hyur Nobility is very thin and is only gained through, to put it frankly, having the right opportunities and busting their ass. There is also, supposedly, a lot racial tension; so would it be plausible to say that a Hyur noble house could be targeted or even lashed out on based on these tensions.

I'm looking at you Sounsyy, lol.

I would love input from anyone knowledgeable on this. Links are great, please feel free to give me anything you've got. Thank you!

Simply put, it's possible, but it isn't the kind of thing people kind of take as par for the course.

I mean, technically, anything is possible if you're not caught.  I'm sure it's happened.  However, Ishgard isn't a hotbed of murderous intrigue as far as assassinations go.  By my understanding, it's more common to lie to gain power in an underhanded way.  It's a lot more common to take credit for things you didn't do (which may involve murder) and to frame your enemies for heresy and have them killed in trials by combat.

That statement could be hyperbole, but grain of truth and all.

That it could be, and it's not like the MSQ is technically representative of what all happens.  It's good to take the flavor text with some grain of truth.  So it might be more common than the story lets on to believe.