Character Refinement

I am utterly new to FFXIV roleplaying standards because I had been stranded on non-RP servers, without any knowledge of where to go.

And now I've found it, and I have no clue what to do.

Still, as a writer, I have my pride.

And part of that pride is in knowing my limits.

I have a basis for race and class down, Au Ra (Xaela) Dark Knight. And while I won't describe her appearance, that's only because I usually save that for "on-site" modification, going with what feels and looks right.

I figured she'd be a rather kind person, despite her imposing appearance, often impulsively stepping in to protect others, regardless of whether or not she understands the situation.

She would not be someone who enjoys the light, preferring the serenity of night. This part I have done a little refinement in, as it's because she views the morning as "the time of masks." In contrast, the night is "the time of truths," where the proverbial masks of the day are discarded, and people feel more relaxed. And yes, she does take philosophical views on many things.

She is very impulsive, tending to think with her heart much of the time. However, she is not a fool, and does have a good head on her shoulders, even if she rarely looks before she leaps.

As a hero, she would be the "moonlight" to that of the average hero's "sunlight." When she's not deep in the throes of passion, she's surprisingly calm, and while still bright, she is soft and soothing, rather than blindingly brilliant. The jury's still out on whether or not I'll actually make her a hero.

I tend to follow a pattern of characters being very powerful, but requiring plenty of experience and self-discipline to prevent that power from just lashing out at everything. I'm probably going to try and break that pattern here.

There are just a couple things I'd like to brainstorm with these forums. And yes, I am asking for opinions.