New to FFXIV and Mi'qote Lore

Rainvierre

Hello FFXIV Roleplayers!

I'm fairly new to FFXIV and would like to have a Seeker Miqo'te character (due to aesthetic reasons). While the Seeker Miqo'tes lore is interesting, the tribe convention doesn't really suit my taste. So, I decided to establish a backstory for my Miqo'te. Roughly, he is the sole survivor from an attack to his tribe, and later was adopted by Lalafell lady and decided to take her surname. I do have a couple of questions regarding to this.

Are the tribes of Seeker Miqo'tes one very large pack? Or is a tribe composed of smaller packs which travel separately? Because having an entire tribe, say, Antelope tribe, getting annihilated doesn't seem too be lore friendly :dazed:.

Is it plausable for a Seeker Miqo'te to be adopted by a Lalafell? Would it be possible for a Lalafell to travel to the area of the Seeker Miqo'te? Or perhaps vice versa or somewhere in the middle?

Feedback and suggestions to my character backstory would also be greatly appreciated! Thanks FFXIV Roleplay! :D

The only thing I'll be sure to say is that lalafells don't really have surnames! Siblings sometimes share a syllable or two of a name (like the "Coco" siblings in the THM story), but the second name is based on the first; it's not familial.

So my lalafell, Caidenden Caiden... her "surname" is Caiden because her first name is Caidenden, not because she's from a long line of people called Caiden.

Otherwise you'd end up with a LOT of lalafell with exactly the same name and no way to differentiate between individuals beyond a "Sr/Jr" suffix. xD

Something you could work with instead is an "epithet" - lots of NPCs have them, like Aymeric the Blue and Karasu Redbeak and all that. These NPCs have surnames as well (Aymeric de Borel, Karasu Kanshi) which usually tell you something about where they're from or who raised them, but the epithet tells you something about what they do or what they've chosen to be like.