How do people feel about un-universe characters?

Hello everyone, I am new to ff14 and rp in general. As such, I had some questions in regards to playing characters that exist(ed) within the story of the game.

I am currently roleplaying the character Edda. I found her to be a deeply captivating character and so moved was I by the events of tam-tara deepcroft HM and potd, I decided I wanted to play her as a character.

In my roleplay, Edda survived the events of tam-tara and the palace of the dead, owing in part to the fresh awakening of the power of the echo within her and from the timely assistance of the Scion's champion. From there, with the aid of the Scion's first champion, she was taken to Gridania to recover, free from the influences of the necromancer, Obdilord. It was from here that she eventually began her journey as an adventurer anew, as much for her own sake as for the memory of her lost love, Avere. Full unaware was she of what life had in store for her, what she would eventually come to be known as across the realm.

I have puzzled out a nore in-depth explanation as to the why and how of it. However, whilst many seem to have forgotten Edda, there have been some folk about Eorzea who have recognized her and taken some joy in their encounter, which makes me happy. I am aware that my character is still in direct contradiction to the lore of the game, so I ask, how much of an issue could this be? Should I continue with this character? Is it too world breaking?

Your thoughts and input would be greatly appreciated, thank you for reading!

Roleplaying an established NPC with a small RP circle, keeping to yourselves in private chat channels: probably fine, as it's nobody else's business what you do and your group determines how they want to play around with concepts / make up their own canon.