Running a successful FC storyline?

Cross-posting this from my tumblr post, since I know there are quite a few people here who have or do currently run longterm plots for their FCs.

Gold & Glory is gearing up to get our first dedicated, longterm FC storyline going which will unfold over the course of multiple events spanning several weeks. And I’ll admit, while I've run a lot of our one-shot / short term events, I have no experience running larger, long-term storylines.

I’ve got the actual content of the plot more or less figured out, and I’m going to run this as largely free form (aka no extensive rolling or character sheets), but as for actually implementing and running it.. I’ve got some questions for people who have more experience!

1.) What’s the best way to get and keep everyone involved, so the plot doesn’t end up solely gravitating around one individual / group?

2.) What sort of pitfalls or common / easy mistakes would you guys warn against falling into?

3.) Conversely, what are the things that may not be obvious, but I should be doing anyway?

4.) Any other tips, tricks, suggestions, warnings…?

Thank you guys so much for your help! I love my FC dearly and I really want to give them something fun and interesting like they deserve, so I’ll take all the help I can get to make that happen!

1. First, I think you need to find a good hook. Something that will really get people invested in the plot, IC and OOC, and want to play a role in it. Perhaps something semi-personal? I think it also helps to allow all sorts of characters to play a role. Something for the sneaky or scholarly types to investigate, something for the combat-oriented characters to fight, wounds for the healer characters to mend, people for the diplomatic characters to talk to, etc.