Can you RP evil Dark Knight and have it lore friendly?

I know they can tap into the darkness, but it's usually done so in some sort of "evil batman" type way, as in serving justice to those who are untouchable.

Or, can they forget all that mumbo jumbo and use the darkness for their own evil gain?

I'm only at level 35 with my Dark Knight and would enjoy RPing as one but not to sure of the lore for them. Did a quick wiki search and nothing was helpful.

Disclaimer: I think I may have seen this topic touched on before, but I could not locate it. So at this point I'm not sure it even existed.

I would imagine that you most certainly could. Granted I'm not an expert when it comes to Dark Knight lore or anything of that nature, but as someone else pointed out on the boards here a time ago, they seem more emotion-based than anything. Their powers come from within. I could easily see someone RPing an "evil" Dark Knight that thoroughly believes in what they're doing and still quite capable of manifesting their powers.

I feel like alignment falls more to the character than the power they wield. But it's probably the case that a Dark Knight's darkness is quite likely to have an influencing factor, considering they bear their pain, fear and rage on their sleeves.

I imagine it would be easier for Dark Knights to fall into the 'evil' category, given those factors, but I don't think it's impossible for a Dark Knight to be of a more pleasant disposition. My own character is just that. He's not going about cleaving at people for no reason, and is generally quite polite in casual conversation, but since the darkness awoke within him, he has become a bit more grey morally.

So at the end of the day? I'd say go ahead. Most will think it's a bit stereotypical, or even cliché, but as long as you're happy with the character, then that's what matters.