Long term injury, is it plausible?

Averlin

Hello everyone, I've been scrounging the lore forums and things for some time now. I'm fairly new to the game and trying to create my first character I have a particular idea I want to run with but I'm unsure of how to do it plausibly in the FFXIV universe as well as how I can implement it or if the plot device really isn't worth my time. 

So my situation here is I'm wanting to play a knight from the Dragonsong war, laid off dragoon situation all that good noise. I want her to have sustained an injury along the later half of the war and been on the mend for the remainder of it. I was hoping I could plausibly give her an injury in an arm or a leg that at times causes her pain or even gives her a slight limp. She's stubborn and still fights because it's what she knows she is skilled at and the like but I want this to actually be an injury that has the capability of hindering her but still allowing her to do things? Perhaps it could be a constant pain of sorts that she requires frequent healing for or certain conditions that will allow the pain to subside for a time being but still hinders her combat skill (aka; limited jumping, sprinting).

I know aether/magic healing takes time no matter what, but essentially what are some things I can do to make it permanent/at least a hindrance for a while?

I guess my overall question is: Is this plausible, playable as a device to eventually give her an ultimatum down the line? Is there anything I can do to explain it better (nerve damage? Aether damage?) whatever that I can give to healers for a better idea of what they're dealing with. 

I appreciate any and all feedback, thank you : D