Pen-pal project

Maril

A while ago, someone suggested a pen-pal project where-in they would pair up some people and it seemed to be a really good idea. However due to the OP going inactive it never got anywhere. 

The gist of the idea is that people can sign up and get a pen-pal for their character to correspond with, either anonymously or not. The correspondence goes through PM's here on the RPC as in-game mail is limited on how much you can type.  

And who knows, some day it could lead to actual RP for the characters involved. 

How does matching work? 

So, what I did in round one is that I created a spreadsheet in google docs and got a friend to help me compile information. If characters had a wiki, I would go read info about their personality, and take in other relevant information so as to guide (I am by no means a people expert, mind) the matches and make sure that the people who I am matching did not already know each other. However not all information was used in all matches. 

Whenever I feel there is enough signed up (and preferably an even number) I start to match people up again. If someone listed two characters, I may PM them to ask if they are willing to have 2 correspondences (unless such was already noted)

How does anonymity work? 

Anonymity is tricky, because how exactly do you start something without saying who you are. Well, so far I've heard of a few options.

1. Use Anon Y'mous 

2. Have one of the pen-pals leave a random letter somewhere and start the correspondence that way 

3. Use a NPC Courier to bring the letters back/forth, knowing it's in the search for a pen-pal. Perhaps your character was feeling lonely or unchallenged in the realms of writing. 

4. Be creative! There are otherwise to twist it together. In all cases I recommend agreeing on a way with your destined pen-pal before starting.

Can I still sign up? 

Yes.