Combat RP: How do I git gud?

Kurt S.

The title says it all.

How do I git gud and make it more enjoyable for everyone involved.

Because apparently I said yes to pitting Ramen against Caex and hoo boy midway through the fight Aaron goes 'it's turn 21' well shit right? So I wiped and wanna get better.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Something I wrote forever ago. I didn't reread it so it may be awful.

So, after reading someone else’s post, I figured it would be good to let people in on a little bit of psychology of the mind when it comes to fighters. To be clear, I have been studying various martial arts and Bushido since I was eight years old. I have formal training in bo, sai, katana, open hand, and have picked up nunchaku and tonfa.

While I’m not going to go into how formal physical training is a huge factor, the thing about fighting is extremely a psychological battle. One of your biggest battles? Your eyes.

When I’m sparring open hand, I never look my opponent in the face. It is actually for two reasons. One? Where I focus determines how much peripheral vision I can utilize. Two? It’s unsettling. You give your opponent the illusion that you are disillusioned. It immediately can make them believe you are, frankly, extremely confident.

I participated in tournaments for about seven years and my trick was to always read the face of my opponent. Reading their eyes, if they are frowning, if they are nervous. It almost always played into how I proceeded with the fight. If someone looked very nervous, I’d immediately go aggressive. If someone looked more or less confident, I’d find a better balance.

I find in RP people are actually over focused on the aggressive and physical aspects, but the fact is, nerves and psychological standing can determine where a fight goes. Toss in an /e stares just to the left of his opponent’s head.