Experienced RPer, new to FFXIV

Hey folks!

As the title says, I'm new to the FFXIV world... new to anything FF actually so, I'm the newbiest of noobs when it comes to the game or lore. I rolled a little Miqo'te female, on Balmung (you don't want to know how long it took to pull -that- off). She's an Archer though I also picked up Conjurer since I almost always play a Ranger or Healer. So, yeah, I know nothing but am looking forward to learning. So far my Archer has reached level 12.

Anyway, I love to RP but knowing nothing about the lore has me quite timid. ICly I always RP the Ranger archetype so I was wondering where the best places are to find RP, where I can... eavesdrop and get a feel for it here. Sticking with the Ranger type she's a loner and fairly quiet. Beyond that I've got nuthin!

I am an experienced RPer, having RP'd in WoW, GW2, SWTOR, RIFT, LotRO. Hopin to meet a few people, perhaps join a guild (Free Company?), and maybe if the stars align - find a partner to both play and RP with!

Look forward to meeting some of you fine folks soon!

Welcome to the RPC! and to FFXIV, the best place for RP there as this time. The best advice anyone could give you is to make connections as you level and don't be afraid to put yourself out there.

The Quicksand in Ul'dah (the adventurer's guild and new player's area) is the biggest RP hub but you can usually find some by taking a stroll through the housing districts. But also don't be afraid to plan your RP, too many people get caught up with RP in FFXIV needing to just miraculously happen but the truth of it is that if we aren't currently RPing, then we probably either need a reason to start , ie you, or we are doing something else incredibly fun that this game has to offer. So yeah whisper people and plan out your RPs.

And welcome!

Welcome welcome.

I would say you pick up enough lore from the quests and story to play your archer. The game is good like that. Just play a "normal" hero and you should be fine.