Really struggling (Mateus)

A little background I played a little bit in stormblood and coming back on a fresh character. 

The problem is the lalafell race is really the only race I kinda wanna play its the one I like the best, however Im always seeing post and even in my test run I could not be taken seriously in rp or people would just flat out refuse too. Its really made me discouraged and having a hard time sticking with something. I keep thinking of going with Highlander just to say forget it, but I always feel like Im gimping myself by not actually playing what i really want to and even have a nice little backstory for him. 

It's not just Lalafell that have this issue.  It took me months to get involved with any Rp and I have over 20 years experience.  I had to reach out to numerous people OOC on here, in game and discord before I finally found some people who were accepting and not totally inclusive with their Rp.

I had the same experience on Balmung when I played during HW peak.  I tried several characters thinking it was something I has done wrong.  Turns out the Rp "community" isn't so much a community as it is a whole bunch of tiny factions that tend to keep to themselves.  Personal experience, of course.  

That said I'm quite happy with the Rp I have now.  Keep looking, talk to people in tells and DMs.  There's a place for your Lalafell.  

Edited by Tristan Carver

Man if I was active with my crystal characters I'd offer to help connect you. 

That said,  the best advice I can give is its not your character.  It just takes a bit of hitting your head against a wall to find a group to get into.  I'd suggest finding public events and throw yourself into them. Interact with who you can and eventually it'll just click.